Jean-Marie Lehn Prize 2018

Our colleague Lucie Borková was awarded the impressive second place in the prestigious young scientist contest Jean-Marie Lehn Prize organised each year by the Embassy of the French Republic in the Czech Republic. Her award-winning contribution „Triterpenoids with anticancer properties and their mechanism of action“ successfully competed with another 70 scientists 33 years old or younger nominated on the grounds of their PhD research quality by various Czech universities and the Czech Academy of Sciences. Award giving ceremony took place in the premises of Buyuoy palace in Prague. Winners received their prizes from the French ambassador in the Czech Republic Rolandem Galharaguem accompanied by Nobel prize winners Jean-Marie Lehn, Jean-Pierre Sauvage and Serge Haroche.

Dean’s prize student contest 2018

Students from our department were awarded in this year’s student contest known as the Dean’s prize. Nikola Jakubcová was awarded a nice third place in the bachelor chemistry section for her work entitled „Preparation of substituted thiazole derivatives of ursolic acid“ supervised by Lucie Borková. Patricia Trapani succeeded in the Master’s chemistry section presenting her contribution „Benzothiofen or thioflavon: a tricky test of organic chemist’s perception by Mother Nature“. Patricia is a member of Miroslav Soural research group. Our young colleagues have attained impressive results in the PhD section. Third place was awarded to Lucie Borková for her work „Triterpenoids with anticancer properties“ (supervised by assoc. prof. Milan Urban). The contribution „Synthesis and application of some chiral benzimidazole derivatives“ won Michal Kriegelstein the second place (supervised by assoc. prof. Petr Cankař). And finally, the first place goes to Soňa Krajčovičová who also became the winner of the entire Chemistry section. Her work entitled „Targeting Protein Kinase Inhibitors: A Stepwise Approach for the Synthesis of Folic Acid Conjugates with CDK Inhibitors“ is supervised by assoc. prof. Miroslav Soural. Photo: Jiří Pospíšil.

Talented student prize 2018

For the last three years, the department of organic chemistry awards one Master level student of Organic chemistry or Bioorganic chemistry the title “talented student”. Students compete in front of a scientific board which judges their studies performance as well as results of their Master’s thesis. This year, the prize goes to Patricia Trapani.

Dean’s prize for excellent research

Assoc. prof. Milan Urban, member of the Institute of Molecular and Translational Medicine was awarded prestigious prize by the dean of Faculty of Medicine of Palacky University for his research. The awarded publication „Synthesis and antiproliferative properties of new hydrophilic esters of triterpenic acids“ is published in the European Journal of Medicinal Chemistry. (DOI: 10.1016/j.ejmech.2017.09.041.)
Photo: Journal UP.

New junior grants 2018 from Czech Science Foundation

Czech Science Foundation has awarded researchers at our department with two new junior grants starting in January 2018. The principle investigators of these two grants are our young colleagues dr. Eva Schütznerová and dr. Kristýna Bürglová. Project by Eva Schütznerová entitled „Green solid phase organic synthesis“ is dedicated to environment friendly solid phase synthesis while Kristýna Bürglová’s project „3-Hydroxychinolin-4(1H)-ones as a biologically interesting compounds“ aims to continue long ongoing research into this type of compounds. Promising results make 3-Hydroxychinolin-4(1H)-ones more and more attractive. Czech Science Foundation is a major Czech grant agency financing fundamental research. Junior grants are awarded to young excellent scientists with international experience and no more than 8 years after receiving their PhD. Grants will be investigated in the upcoming three years.


Prof. Jan Hlaváč received a prestigious Dean’s award at the Faculty Science of Palacky University for excellent research as an author of the idea of a one-step exchange of an amino group on aromatic derivatives for deuterium or hydrogen that was published in an outstanding journal Organic Letters (DOI: 10.1021/acs.orglett.6b01438). Similarly to the award at the Medical Faculty, this prize is only awarded to the publications in journals ranking among the top ten percent of their cluster within the Web of Science database. Photo: Journal UP.


The quality of the theses of our students, which are carried out within all fields of study guaranteed by the Department of Organic Chemistry, is being demonstrated by publication of their results in international impacted journals. In recent years, the following publications have been published:

  • Traceless solid-phase synthesis of 1’H-spiro[pyrrolidine-3,2′-quinazolin]-2-ones and 1’H-spiro[piperidine-3,2′-quinazolin]-2-ones via lactamization of 1,2-dihydroquinazoline-2-carboxylates. Studentka Jana Pospíšilová, supervisor dr. Eva Schütznerová. DOI:  10.1021/acscombsci.8b00145

  • Synthesis and Cytotoxic Activity of Triterpenoid Thiazoles Derived from Allobetulin, Methyl Betulonate, Methyl Oleanonate, and Oleanonic Acid. Student Richard Adámek, supervisor Mgr. Lucie Borková. DOI:  10.1002/cmdc.201600626

  • Mitsunobu C-alkylation of β-alkoxycarbonyl 2-nitrobenzenesulfones and its use for the rapid synthesis of novel benzothiazine derivatives. Student Martina Drábíková, supervisor Mgr. Soňa Krajčovičová. DOI:  10.1016/j.tet.2017.09.017

  • Solid-Phase Synthesis of 2,3-Dihydrobenzo[f][1,2,5]thiadiazepin-4(5H)-one 1,1-Dioxides with Three Diversity Positions. Student Patricia Trapani, supervisor doc. Miroslav Soural. DOI: 10.1021/acscombsci.6b00049

  • The Suzuki–Miyaura Cross-Coupling Reaction of Halogenated Aminopyrazoles: Method Development, Scope, and Mechanism of Dehalogenation Side Reaction. Students Renata Zátopková, Hana Zemánková, Alena Šustková, supervisor dr. Lukáš Jedinák. DOI: 10.1021/acs.joc.6b02306

  • Stereoselective Polymer-Supported Synthesis of Morpholine- and Thiomorpholine-3-carboxylic Acid Derivatives. Student Petra Králová, supervisor dr. Veronika Fülöpová. DOI: 10.1021/acscombsci.6b00178

  • Synthesis of Novel N9-Substituted Purine Derivatives from Polymer Supported α-Amino Acids. Student David Vanda, supervisor doc. Miroslav Soural. DOI: 10.1021/acscombsci.5b00071

  • Solid-Phase Synthesis of ɤ-Lactone and 1,2-Oxazine Derivatives and Their Efficient Chiral Analysis. Student Leona Kocmanová, supervisor prof. Jan Hlaváč. DOI: 10.1371/journal.pone.0166558